About Gulf Coast Family Center,
formerly Exchange Club Family Center

  • Private, not-for-profit 501(c)(3) corporation
  • All donations are tax deductible
  • Established in July, 1991 by the Exchange Club of Mobile
  • Opened second office in Robertsdale in 2017
  • Two emphases:
    * Prevention of child abuse and neglect
    * Stressing the importance of both parents in children’s lives
  • Healthy Start program taught at USA Children’s and Women’s Hospital to new parents
  • Only non-profit supervised visitation sites south of Birmingham and open to all US residents
  • Monitored exchanges of children offered at the Mobile and Robertsdale office free of charge thanks to funding provided by Alabama Office of the Courts
  • Serving approximately 6,000 individuals each year
  • All staff are mandatory reporters of child abuse and neglect
  • We accept voluntary participants and those referred by the courts and by DHR
  • Speakers available to visit your group and explain our services and child abuse prevention (honorariums appreciated)
  • Services offered for nominal fees, dependent on funding

The Family Center Staff

Michon Trent, LICSW, PIP
Executive Director

Danyele Schmidt, B.A.
Director of Programs

Mobile County Office
3100 Cottage Hill Rd., Suite 202
Mobile, AL 36606

Whitney Cannedy, LBSW
Family Time Program Coordinator

Tiffinie Chase, MSW
A-Reset & Strengthening Families Program Coordinator

Briana Davis, B.S.
Parent Network & School Programs

Ashley Newsome, B.S.
Parent Network & Healthy Start Program Coordinator

Monét Pettway, BSW
Strengthening Families Parent Coach

Baldwin County Office
22671 AL St. Hwy 59 South
Robertsdale, AL 36567

Bill Morgan, MEd, MDIV
Strengthening Families Parent Coach

Jan Doyle, BSW
Strengthening Families Data Specialist & Office Manager

Reagan L. Thomas, MS
A-Reset Parent Coach

Breanna Oswald
Family Time Visit Supervisor

The Family Board of Directors

Bettsie Norton,

Debbie Shumock,

Marques Ivy,

Kimberly Zlomke

Michelle Crowe

Latorie Horn

Melvin Williams, Jr.

Juanita Spinks,
Past President

Michon Trent, MSW
Executive Director
FEIN: 58-1961091